RaBBiT1 brings together knowledge from Physics, Chemistry, Biochemistry and Biophysics to set up a unique advanced learning environment. The RaBBiT programme is international in nature — it is built upon a strong collaboration effort with a partnership of well recognized European universities2. Within the programme, students will find experts, from world class research centres, involved in research programmes ranging from the biologic effects of radiation to medical applications or from the fundamental aspects of atom-molecule interactions to molecular characterization of enzyme mechanisms by means of spectroscopic tools. While focused on specific research topics, the programme includes complementary and transferable activities that will support students’ personal and professional development3.

RaBBiT is open to students from all over the world and with different academic backgrounds. Applicants can bring their own scholarships or, depending on availability, apply for financial support under particular conditions4.

  1. Acronym for “The Radiation Biology and Biophysics Doctoral Training Programme”.
  2. Visit ︎︎︎ RABBIT ED. 2.0 and find out more about it.
  3. Integral to the doctoral programme are curricular modules in academic integrity, science communication, career management and entrepreneurial mindset, among other offers.
  4. Funding can be available through individual or research units national scholarships as well as EC funded programmes. Current available funding opportunities can be found at ︎︎︎ Research Opportunities and ︎︎︎ Euraxess.

Pedro Tavares
Pgrm. Coordinator
[Universidade NOVA de Lisboa]
Alice S. Pereira
[Universidade NOVA de Lisboa]
Paulo Limão-Vieira
[Universidade NOVA de Lisboa]
Gustavo García
Jimena Gorfinkiel
[Open University]
Stephen Denifl
[University of Innsbruck]
Kevin Prise
[Queen's University Belfast]
Ilko Bald
[University of Potsdam]
Janina Kopyra
[Siedlce University]
Bruno Guigliarelli

Adriana Erica Miele
[Université Claude Bernard Lyon]
Eugen Illenberger 
[Free University Berlin]
David Field 
[Aarhus University]
Stephen Buckman
[Australian National University]
Sylwia Ptasinska 
[University of Notre Dame]

Site inception supported by FCT/MCTES funded project PD/193/2012